Jefferson Whole Child Meeting March 29, 2022

<u>Present</u>: Cumi Allen, Tonya Bell, Donna Hagan, Cindy Hutto, Elizabeth Schmidt, Brandi Turner, Laura Blue, Yolanda Gillette, Amber Freeman, Anne Everett, Kara Palmer Smith, Tori Boudreau, Dawn Merrix, Terrance Watts, Gretchen Thornton, Tevis Page, Asheena Moses, Emily Kohler, Brent Couch, Catherine MoniSmith, Camye Edwards, Betsy Rykard, Paula Carroll, Dina Snider, and Tim Center.

<u>Agencies Represented</u>: Big Bend 211, Healthy Start Coalition, Healthy Families Seven Rivers, Simply Healthcare, Jefferson County Emergency Management, Jefferson County Extension Office, Department of Juvenile Justice, Early Learning Center Big Bend, FSU TATS, Department of Children and Families, Florida Department of Health Jefferson, N. Florida Medical Center, Big Bend Cares, FSU CARD, Capitol Area Community Action Agency, and FL Impact to End Hunger.

Tonya Bell opened the meeting and welcomed everyone.

Kara Palmer Smith of ELC Beg Bend stated that they are enrolling families for childcare assistance (0-12 years of age). Also, the 8th Annual Run ELC Race for Readiness signature event, scheduled for May 1, 2022, 4 PM - 7 PM.

Dawn Merrix of FSU CARD said that they are doing an Autism Awareness event at the FSU Soccer Complex on April 3rd, Pre-K to 2nd grade.

Yolanda Gillette with Big Bend AHEC said that they are back to doing in person class for Tobacco Cessation classes. Also said that they are ready to go back to in person class for Matter of Balance for Seniors classes as well. Minority Event on April 8th at Taylor County Senior Center.

Brent Couch of Simply Health Care Plan said that they have a one-time benefit of \$500 for Medicaid recipients to assist with housing costs to prevent homelessness.

Donna Hagan of Healthy Start Coalition of JMT advised that there is a sales tax exemption for diapers for a period of one year. They are doing a Fetal Implant and Mortality Review. They will present the Annual State of Infants in May. Board Election for Jefferson County has two nominees: Willie Ann Dickey, and Erma Morris. Participants requested the biographies of all nominees so that they could review each one prior to voting.

Next meeting is May 24, 2022.

Notes taken by Laura Blue